Oakland Domestic Violence Lawyer
Domestic Violence Defense Lawyer in Alameda County, CA
Being accused of domestic violence in California can lead to serious consequences. Unfortunately, you can be accused of this offense by law enforcement with minimal evidence after a cursory visit to the domestic scene. Allegations are often based on misleading statements, exaggerations, and falsehoods stemming from domestic disputes about a failing relationship, divorce, child custody battles, and more. Once charges have been brought, you or your accuser will unlikely be able to have them dropped, as this offense is considered a crime against the state as well as the alleged victim. This is where an Oakland domestic violence attorney can help.
At Demetrius Costy Law, we have represented many clients that have been charged with domestic violence. These charges are damaging to your future and your reputation. Our firm has experience representing family members and alleged victims in domestic violence situations in Oakland. Often times, these individuals want the charges against their loved ones dropped, but the District Attorney refuses to abide by their wishes. There are laws that will allow you to take back control of the case. We can help.
Accused of a domestic violence in California? Discuss your case in during a free, initial consultation with our team at Demetrius Costy Law.
What is Domestic Violence in California?
Under California law, domestic violence occurs when physical harm or intimidation is committed against a family member, spouse, partner or a previous significant other. Corporal injury occurs when there is some form of traumatic condition as a result of either a minor or serious physical injury. You can be charged with domestic violence if you threaten physical or emotional abuse against another person.
California domestic violence crimes include:
- Corporal injury
- Domestic battery
- Child abuse
- Child endangerment
- Child neglect
- Elder abuse
- Criminal threats
- Damaging a telephone line
- Aggravated trespass
- Distributing revenge porn
- Posting harmful information about the victim
Domestic Violence Penalties in California
A first-offense domestic violence crime is generally a misdemeanor, but it can be charged as a felony depending on the circumstances of the incident, the extent of any injuries, and one’s criminal history. Penalties for a misdemeanor carry fines of up to $2,000 along with a jail sentence of up to a year.
Additional penalties can include:
- Mandatory minimum jail time of up to 30 days
- Restitution to the alleged victim
- Payment into a domestic violence programs
- Completion of a batterers’ program
- Loss of child custody and/or gun rights
Defense Experience Matters
A domestic violence charge calls for the services of an experienced and committed criminal defense attorney whose sole goal will be to pursue your best interests. At Demetrius Costy Law, you can work with a proven trial lawyer who has handled thousands of cases throughout Alameda County and surrounding areas. With 20 years of criminal defense practice, our Oakland domestic violence defense attorney brings skill, dedication, and proven results to your case.
Aggressive Domestic Violence Defense in California
In light of the severe consequences you may be facing, we strongly urge you to contact Demetrius Costy Law as early as possible so that we can protect your legal rights and begin our thorough investigation into the charges brought against you. Demetrius has handled over 100 misdemeanor and felony domestic violence cases. He has had some of these charges dismissed both before and during trial.
We are available 24/7 at (510) 254-3945. Call today to speak to an experienced attorney.